DIY Natural Dry Shampoo Using Kitchen Ingredients

Hey guys! Today I want to tell you how you can make your own natural dry shampoo using ingredients from your kitchen!

I have naturally oily hair. I pretty much can’t go longer than 24 hours without washing my hair or it starts looking greasy and flat. I know that it’s not healthy to wash your hair everyday, but I don’t feel confident when my hair starts to look like that. So, when I first heard about dry shampoo, I was ecstatic!

I used the popular dry shampoo that comes in an aerosol can for years….. And loved it! Until I started becoming more health conscious and began wondering what my body was absorbing through my scalp and what I was breathing in every time I sprayed my hair. (Plus, one small can is quite expensive if you think about how (not very) long it lasts).

So, when I discovered an easy (and inexpensive) way to make my own dry shampoo powder, I was even more ecstatic and still am!

I’m going to teach you how to make dry shampoo powder that matches your hair colour perfectly; whether you have brown, blonde, red (or grey) hair.

Let’s start with the base ingredient. You can either use arrowroot flour or cornstarch. They both do a great job at absorbing oil.

Cornstarch is more commonly found in the kitchen. However, a high percentage of conventional corn is grown using genetically modified seed as well as harmful pesticides. The chemical extraction process to make cornstarch can also be harsh. So, I would suggest that you use organic cornstarch if possible.

I like to use arrowroot flour because the extraction process is less intense and arrowroot flour is typically not genetically engineered.

Check out this link to read more about the comparison between cornstarch and arrowroot flour.

Now that you have you base ingredient for absorbing the oils, you can start adding colour to your dry shampoo based on your own hair colour. I won’t be giving you specific measurements because everyone has their own beautiful hue of colour. Feel free to play around with the following ingredients until your dry shampoo blends in unnoticeably.

If you’re a brunette, add cocoa powder so that the white base doesn’t show up in your dark hair. The darker your hair, the more cocoa powder.

If you are a blonde like me, you only need a little bit of cocoa powder to add some colour to your base since your hair is lighter and the powder will be less noticeable.

If you are rockin’ the red, try adding any or a combination of the following: cinnamon, nutmeg, beetroot powder, or sweet paprika with a little bit of cocoa powder depending on the reddish tones in your hair.

And if you happen to be a silver fox, all you need is the base ingredient and you’re set!

Store your new concoction in a glass jar with a lid. As long as it stays dry, it can last for several months.

An alternative way to store it is in an old spice shaker. It’s really convenient, especially for travelling or if you are always on the run.

To apply it, get an old makeup brush or kabuki brush.

Start by making a part right beside your ear going from your face to the back of your head. Pick up a small amount of powder onto your brush. Tap the brush so any excess powder falls off. Then, dab the powder along the part you just made.

Now, create another part about one inch away from the first one and apply your powder. Continue this process until you’ve have reached your opposite ear.

I like to add powder to my hair above my forehead as well as to the hair at the back of my neck.

Next, use your fingers to massage the powder into your roots. And finally, use your hair brush to remove any excess powder leaving your hair looking naturally clean.

There you have it, your hair is now soft, clean – looking, and voluminous! Have fun with it and good luck! 🙂

Leave a comment